Box 22, Winlaw, BC V0G 2J0 1-888-683-7878 (SVRT)

Slocan Valley Heritage Trail Society

The Slocan Valley Heritage Trail Society (SVHTS) is a community group originally formed in 1994 to promote the development of a non-motorized recreational trail along the recently abandoned Slocan Valley spur of the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) in the West Kootenay region of BC.

A registered society under the BC Society Act, the SVHTS has an elected board of directors, a constitution and bylaws. Membership in the society is open to all and members are encouraged to participate in the ongoing maintenance and management of the trail as volunteers.

The SVHTS is associated with Trails BC and the Trans-Canada Trail Foundation, as well as other trail stewardship groups active in developing and managing recreational trails.

The Slocan Valley Heritage Trail Society currently has a stewardship agreement with Rec’ Sites and Trails B.C. (RSTBC), a department of  the Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations (FLNRO), the current owner of the Slocan Valley Rail-Trail (SVRT), to manage the trail. Under the terms of this agreement RSTBC and the SVHTS are jointly responsible for the development, operation and maintenance of the Slocan Valley Rail Trail lands for the purpose of non-motorized recreational use.

The 2020/2021 Board of Directors are:

Helene Dostaler   Chairperson           Kurt Hilger    Asst. Chairperson     Gary Yakimchuk   Treasurer                     Cheryl Bonowicz    Secretary                Directors: Craig Lawrence, Harold Resanzoff, Claudia Vogel, Randi Fjeldseth

The Annual General Meeting of the Society in usually held in May. New members are always welcome, as are those who may wish to become involved on the Board Level.